Skyrunning – Granite Mountain

Granite Mountain 

5629′ peak elevation

8 miles

3800′ vertical gain

2:03′ round trip

GPS track

Today was a speed run up Granite Mountain for time. I felt pretty good about my 1:17′ ascent time up the rocky, steep trail. I ended up using poles this time to take some of the strain off of my legs which I think was pretty effective.

Rather than taking the “summer” trail to the summit on the way up, I scrambled the summit ridge direct on talus, adding a dramatic finish to the route. Running above the clouds on an exposed ridge, using my hands and feet, is an exhilarating change of pace compared to my nightly laps around Greenlake Park in Seattle.

Breaking out above treeline

Lookout at the top

Leave a Reply

