Emigration Canyon (Hot)

High of 93 degrees today – what’s the logical thing to do? Head for the hills! Emigration Canyon it is.

My strategic error was not leaving my house until 1pm (slept in after an alpine start the previous day on South Thunder Mountain). That meant I was riding in the heat of a day. I got a bit sunburned but the ride was phenomenal. I was able to pedal from my door to the summit in 1:06 including traffic lights, which is a more than 20 minute improvement from earlier this week. The pacing was easier now that I have a sense of the route. Averaged 24 mph on the 13 mile descent home including traffic in SLC, so I was going a lot faster in the canyon. Very scenic – I want to go beyond the reservoir and ride up “Big Mountain” the next time I head up there.

Emigration canyon road past the summit

 

Must bring swimsuit next time
Leave a Reply

